With the Xenia, the heating cartridges are only used for quick heating, as controlling a brew group via thermostat and heating is too unstable.

 

Once around 90 °C has been reached at the inner end of the brew group, the heaters can be switched off.

 

But then the rest of the machine is not yet warm enough and the thermal bridge does not transport enough heat to keep the brew group at the desired temperature. Since we can programme the control unit, we use a trick. We overheat the brew group with the fast heating cartridges, which in this phase supplies heat to the rest of the machine. After about 12–13 minutes this heat is distributed and the machine is really well heated through for a first good extraction. And from here on, the thermal bridge also supplies enough constant heat that the heating cartridges can be left out.

 

Without this overheating, the temperature would drop again to 90 °C or below for a longer period of time. In principle, you could also use heating cartridges with a lower output (approx. 2 x 50 watts) and then the brew group and the machine would be ready at the same time—but only after ~ 25 minutes.

 

The control unit signals this targeted overheating and transfer of heat to the machine by slowly flashing the brew group LED (2nd LED from the top). If the 2nd LED from above is off, the first espresso can be extracted without hesitation.

 

Explained in more detail

When a machine is considered to be heated up is not really defined. In general, one can say: when the first extraction is essentially like the following. To this end, all relevant parts of the machine must (as far as possible) be at the correct temperature. Before developing the Xenia, we considered that we wanted a machine that would reach the right temperature quickly and that would also be heated through quickly - in other words, it would have a constant, steady temperature early on, which would hardly change afterwards.

So the Xenia was developed accordingly.

The following graphic shows the measurement curves of a Xenia for 2 measuring points in the brew group—which is certainly the most important element—recorded over a longer period of time.
The absolute numbers are less important in the following explanation because they are not particularly meaningful. And they always vary a little from machine to machine. Rather, it is about the development of the temperature over time and its meaning/ relevance.

One of the measuring points in the following diagram in the group is near the heat source (boiler) and one is more distant.

As you can see, after 14 minutes (due to overheating) the machine has almost exactly reached the temperature in the brew group and holds it for over an hour. This machine is even slightly above the value at the said point in time. Other machines can be slightly below this.
Viewed in this way, it can be said that the machine has almost exactly reached operating temperature after 14 minutes without (blind) extraction for heating. This is also shown by experience: after 13–15 minutes you can extract coffee with an output of 2 × 100 watts and will have a result that is very similar to the following extractions.

In the case of an exposed brew group, however, there are parts that are very far away from the boiler as a heat source and, of course, do not heat up that quickly or do not get warm at all. Because of their small size, they are not as important as the 3.2 kg group. But you can check conditions at parts positioned further away. For example concerning the sieve or the shower screen. You can determine the temperature quite well on the shower screen. And this value is also a good comparison value with other machines, because this part is easily accessible on any machine in order to position a sensor. We placed a sensor at right angles from below on the metal of the bell near the centre for measurement.

To assess the values of the Xenia, I determined the resting temperature for an E61-HX machine at the position of the shower screen. If we assume that a standard E61-HX machine is considered to have been heated through after 30 minutes, then at this point in time the shower strainer measured 77.5 °C. So this is the temperature for a fully heated E61-HX machine.

If the E61 machine is left to heat up for a longer period of time, the resting temperature on the shower strainer levels off at just under 84 °C. So after 30 minutes there is still almost 6 °C missing from the resting temperature.

If you look at the curve of the Xenia, you can see a different run of the curve:

After 14 minutes the temperature on the shower screen of a Xenia machine is 79.2 °C—roughly the same value at which the E61 group reached the shower screen after 30 minutes.

Here is the video for the measurements as proof.

The result of the measurements corresponds to what the result of the development of the machine was. Many variants/ parameters were tried over a longer period of time until this very short heating-up time resulted. This was then checked with many measurements on machines. Even if only one measurement curve of a machine is shown here, 8 measurements were carried out on new machines and all of them—with slight deviations—show the same curves.
The measurement on the E61-HX machine was repeated twice. However, it is conceivable that other E61-HX machines have different heat-up times. With empty extractions, you can certainly shorten the time with an E61-HX machine—but possibly at the price of an unknown or deviating brewing temperature.

So it is quite understandable and justified to say that the Xenia is completely operative after 14 minutes.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Bei der Xenia werden die Heizpatronen ja nur zum schnellen Anheizen genutzt, da eine Steuerung einer Brühgruppe über Thermostat und Heizungen zu instabil ist.

 

Sind rund 90 °C am inneren Ende der Brühgruppe erreicht, könnten die Heizungen also ausgeschaltet werden.

 

Dann ist aber der Rest der Maschine noch nicht warm genug und die Wärmebrücke transportiert noch nicht genug Wärme, um die Brühgruppe auf Wunschtemperatur zu halten. Da wir die Steuereinheit programmieren können, wenden wir einen Trick an. Wir überheizen mit den schnellen Heizpatronen die Brühgruppe, die in dieser Phase dann nämlich Wärme an die restliche Maschine liefert. Nach ca 12–13 Minuten ist diese Wärme verteilt und die Maschine ist richtig gut für einen ersten guten Bezug durchgewärmt. Und ab hier liefert die Wärmebrücke auch genug konstante Wärme, so dass die Heizpatronen ausbleiben können.

 

Ohne dieses Überheizen würde die Temperatur für längere Zeit wieder gegen 90 °C oder darunter absinken. Im Prinzip könnte man auch Heizpatronen mit geringerer Leistung einsetzen (ca. 2 x 50 Watt) und dann wären Brühgruppe und Maschine gleichzeitig fertig —  aber erst nach ~25 Minuten.

 

Dieses gezielte Überheizen und Abgeben von Wärme an die Maschine signalisiert die Steuereinheit durch langsames Blinken der Brühgruppen-LED (2. LED von oben). Ist die 2. LED von oben aus, kann ohne Bedenken der erste Espresso bezogen werden.

 

Genauer erklärt

Wann eine Maschine als aufgeheizt gilt, ist nicht wirklich festgelegt. Pauschal kann man sagen: wenn der 1. Bezug im Wesentlichen wie der folgende wird. Dazu müssen alle relevanten Teile der Maschine (weitestgehend) auf Temperatur sein. Wir haben uns vor der Entwicklung der Xenia überlegt, dass wir eine Maschine haben wollen, die schnell auf Temperatur ist und auch schnell durchgeheizt ist – also früh eine konstante, gleichbleibende Ruhetemperatur hat, die sich kaum in der Folge ändert.

So wurde die Xenia dann entsprechend entwickelt.

In der folgenden Grafik sind die Messkurven einer Xenia für 2 Messpunkte in der Brühgruppe  —  die sicher das wesentliche Element ist  —  über einen längeren Zeitraum aufgezeichnet.
Die absoluten Zahlen sind in der folgenden Erklärung weniger wichtig, weil sie keine besondere Aussagekraft haben. Und sie schwanken immer ein wenig von Maschine zu Maschine. Es geht vielmehr um die Entwicklung der Temperatur über die Zeit und deren Aussage/ Bedeutung.

Einer der Messpunkte im folgenden Diagramm in der Gruppe ist nahe der Wärmequelle (Kessel) und einer ist eher entfernt.

Wie man sehen kann, ist bei der Maschine (durch das Überheizen) nach 14 Minuten ziemlich genau die Temperatur in der Gruppe erreicht, die sie über eine Stunde später immer noch hat. Diese Maschine liegt zu dem besagten Zeitpunkt sogar leicht über dem Wert. Andere Maschinen können leicht darunter liegen.
So betrachtet kann man sagen, dass die Maschine ohne (blinde) Heizbezüge nach 14 Minuten ziemlich genau die Betriebstemperatur erreicht hat. Das zeigt auch die Erfahrung: man kann bei 2×100 Watt nach 13–15 Minuten beziehen und wird ein Ergebnis haben, dass den folgenden Bezügen sehr ähnlich ist.

Bei einer freiliegenden Brühgruppe ist es aber auch so, dass es Teile gibt, die sehr weit von dem Kessel als Wärmequelle entfernt sind und natürlich nicht ganz so schnell warm werden bzw. gar nicht so warm werden. Zwar sind sie aufgrund ihrer geringen Maße von dem Einfluss nicht so entscheidend wie die 3,2 kg schwere Gruppe, aber man kann sich schon anschauen, wie es an diesen aussen liegenden Punkten aussieht. Es geht zum Beispiel um das Sieb oder das Duschsieb. Am Duschsieb kann man recht gut die Temperatur bestimmen. Und dieser Wert ist auch ein guter Vergleichswert mit anderen Maschinen, weil man diesen Punkt bei jeder Maschine erreichen kann, um einen Sensor zu positionieren. Wir haben Zur Messung einen Sensor rechtwinklig von unten auf das Metall der Glocke nahe der Mitte gesetzt.

Zur Einschätzung der Werte der Xenia, habe ich für eine E61-HX-Maschine die Ruhetemperatur an der Position des Duschsiebes bestimmt. Gehen wir davon aus, dass eine übliche E61/HX-Maschine nach 30 Minuten als durchgeheizt gilt, dann wurden zu diesem Zeitpunkt ‘am‘ Duschsieb 77,5 °C gemessen. Das ist also bei einer E61-HX-Maschine durchgeheizt.

Lässt man die E61-Maschine noch länger aufheizen, pendelt sich die Ruhetemperatur am Duschsieb bei knapp 84°C ein. Es fehlen also nach 30 Minuten noch knapp 6°C zur Ruhetemperatur.

Schaut man sich die Kurve der Xenia an, sieht man einen anderen Verlauf:

Nach 14 Minuten ist die Temperatur am Duschsieb bei 79,2 °C — also ungefähr bei dem Wert, bei dem die E61-Gruppe am Duschsieb nach 30 Minuten angekommen ist.

Hier als Nachweis noch das Video zu den Messungen:

Das Ergebnis der Messungen entspricht dem was das Resultat der Entwicklung der Maschine war. Hier wurden über einen längeren Zeitraum viele Varianten/ Parameter probiert, bis es zu dieser recht kurzen Aufheizzeit kam. Das wurde dann mit vielen Messungen an Maschinen überprüft. Auch wenn hier nur eine Messkurve einer Maschine dargestellt wird, wurden 8 Messungen an neuen Maschinen durchgeführt und alle bringen  —  mit leichten Abweichungen  —  die gleichen Verläufe.
Die Messung an der E61-HX-Maschine wurde 2 Mal wiederholt. Es ist jedoch denkbar, dass andere E61-HX-Maschinen andere Aufheizzeiten haben. Mit Leerbezügen kann man die Zeit bei einer E61-HX-Maschine sicher verkürzen – möglicherweise aber zum Preis einer dann nicht bekannten bzw. abweichenden Brühtemperatur.

So ist es aber durchaus nachvollziehbar und berechtigt zu sagen, dass die Xenia bei 14 Minuten vollständig betriebsbereit ist.

de_DEDeutsch